brain farts

A Taste

Posted on: January 4, 2007

I have yet to get official verification on this, but my brother just told me that his organic chem teacher told the class an hour ago that his friend phoned to say that a bomb just went off at 5 pm at Major Cineplex Rangsit. That’s about ten minutes from my university and a favorite stomping ground where we sometimes go to catch flicks after exams.

I’m supposed to meet up with Gug, Jup, and Akira after class this Saturday, but we have a bit of a problem — we don’t know where exactly to meet up. Normally it’d be either Paragon, Emporium, Central, Siam Square, or any other of our usual haunts.  But now?  Not so much.  We’ll probably end up finding a low-key restaurant or cafe to hang out at instead.

I don’t want this sudden onslaught of terror to dictate how I live my life, but there is, after all, a clear line between brazenness and sheer stupidity. As much as I want to go about things like normal, I can’t ignore the fact that undetonated bombs and threats are rapidly sprouting across the city every day like pirated CD vendors at Pantip Plaza. Every corner of the city is up for grabs — elementary schools, supermarkets, department stores, you name it. Right now, I’m thinking I’d rather err on the side of precaution than end up tangled in the middle of a blast somewhere.


We’re hardly the first city to experience this, and we definitely won’t be the last. Still, it’s one thing to hear about explosions and carnage on TV and another to see it with your own eyes. Today Goi mentioned that we now have a little taste of what it’s like to live in Israel, Palestine, and Iraq. Well, I’m really hoping this is precisely that — a taste. The last thing anyone would want is for this to turn into a full-fledged smorgasbord.

In the meantime, stay safe, fellow Bangkokians.

~*~

Currently Anticipating: My favorite Korean Boy’s upcoming concert. I’m excited as heck, but I’m still straddling the fence trying to decide if I should go or not (see above).

Currently Watching: Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan. I finally got my hands on it and, ohmigod, I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard in my life. I guess it’s a good thing the movie was banned in Thailand, because had I watched it at the cinema I probably would’ve scared everyone away with my oh so attractive snorting and guffawing. High Five!

9 Responses to "A Taste"

Sounds like you’re maintaining a good balance between fearlessness and vigilance. Have any groups stepped forward to take responsibility for the bombings yet? ::turns to look at newspaper::

Borat has been banned in some places? Really? Now I have to go see it!

I know it’s scary coz it could be anywhere at all. Dying is no one’s option, but if we have to die, we still have to die anyway. Might as well just be happy, but I get it that we should minimize the risk of dying. :) Guess we have to find ways to live happily under this kind of situation. :)

I say go see your Korean bf. :) hehehe I doubt that the police would let bombers kill Rain in a bomb blast. :P

Borat… gosh everyone talks about it! Now even my little cousins talk about it. :P

Take care Lynn… and be happy. :)

Kate: No groups have stepped forward yet, but then again, who knows if the newspaper and media are reporting all the facts? And yeah, Borat was banned here. At first, I thought Thailand’s conservative film board was overreacting again, but then I watched it and understood why. :P It takes a lot to shock me, but even some of Borat’s antics had me gaping (but in delighted horror, mind you). ;)

I totally agree, Bua! And yeah, I think I just might go to the concert. Must be the supportive girlfriend — I mean, fangirl — that I am! ;) And definitely watch Borat if you can. It’s so outrageous and yet so refreshingly genuine at the same time. Totally recommended.

I would feel much more safe if the words bomb and Pantip were not mentioned anywhere near each other. For the sake of all that is good, spare my Pantip!

Whoops, sorry, Ben. My bad. ;) But yeah, it would be a sad day indeed if Pantip were to go. Where else would we indulge in pure unadulterated piracy?!

yikes, that is really unfortunate to hear khun lynn :( i hope you’ll stay safe and very wise of you to stick to the low key places :) i hope bkk becomes safe again soon.

Sounds pretty worrisome right now in Thailand (I hope my family’s okay)….take care of yourself!

I hope the terrorists will be catched soon !

Its a show times we’re living in, Lynn.

I guess coming from Washington D.C., I’m used to seeing Soilders with machine guys at the Metro Trains. Doesn’t really bother me anymore. If New York, DC, London, Spain, India, Japan… can succumb to terrorist’s attack. What makes BKK any different? No matter where you travel in the world, there is a risk.

Can’t let fear dictate your life.

P.S.: I love Borat…. do you have a Master copy of it? My copy is all fuzzy. =\

Leave a Reply

Tweet, tweet

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Good Times

Roma-105

Roma-104

Roma-103

Roma-102

Roma-101

More Photos

What I Rant About

Blast to the Past

