brain farts

Everything You (Didn’t) Want to Know About Me

Posted on: January 24, 2007

Bua tagged me ages ago, so without further ado, here I go!

~*~

6 WEIRD THINGS ABOUT ME:

  1. Unlike the rest of the world (and my favorite Gilmore girls, Lorelai and Rory), I absolutely cannot stand coffee. Just the thought of drinking it makes me want to hurl. Dude, just TYPING about thinking of drinking coffee makes me want to hurl. This is why, whenever I hang at Starbucks or any random cafe, I usually go for some hot chocolate, iced tea, or a chilly frappuccino instead. Weirdly enough, I actually like the smell of coffee verra much, though. Not so sure why, but one possible reason could be because it reminds me of my dad; one of my earliest memories is of him reading to me with a cup of steaming hot java in his left hand.
  2. I have a great fascination for the Regency era, whether it be fashion, literature (hello, Jane Austen), architecture, art, anything. Of course, despite my great love for all things Regency, this doesn’t mean I’d like to be transplanted to the 1820’s; I don’t want to drop dead from smallpox or implode from wearing a corset, thank you very much.
  3. Sure, malls are great places to shoe-$hop, but for me, they’re also excellent places to people-watch.

  4. I like to car-dance. Admit it, you’ve done it before, too! I used to be embarrassed to let loose when my favorite song came on the radio, but now I could care less. If anyone sees me, at least they’ll have a good laugh! Then again, my newfound sense of abandon might be because of the darkly tinted windows on my new car. =X
  5. I still stumble over the whole “where are you from?” question. It’s not as easy as saying “I’m hapa” or “I’m half this and half that,” because in my case it’s more a question of self-identity. To put it all in a nutshell, I usually tell people that ethnically I’m Chinese, culturally I’m Thai, and mentally I’m American. But every TCK knows it’s not that easy. The lines blend and blur in ways that throw you off track, making you wonder where one element of you ends and the other begins. Does that make any sense at all?
  6. Unlike a lot of people, high school was actually one of the best times of my life. I loved the way-up-there highs and the God-I-feel-like-utter-crap lows, the excitement and anxiety, the cat-fights and laugh-fests, and even the crap cafeteria food and constant stress of trying to mentally map out the best route to pass your crush’s locker without it looking like you were doing so on purpose (even though he sooo knew). A lot of my friends from high school are still my closest and dearest friends now, and I hope it stays that way ’til we’re old and gray and wrinkley. :)

5 THINGS ABOUT ME THAT RELATIVELY FEW PEOPLE KNOW:

  1. Despite my fanatical love for reading, I was actually a slow reader once. In kindergarten, when everyone else was off tackling The Cat in the Hat and Where the Wild Things Are, I was still trying to get a hang of my ABCs. Yeah, I was quite the dunce. My mom was so worried I might be dyslexic that she and my dad sat me down and gave me a crash course on Spelling 101 and Reading for Dummies. After one crazy (but very fun) summer, everything suddenly came together and I was finally able to string letters and words together. By the time 1st grade came around, I had morphed into one very voracious reader. I read the most books in the class, won Ms. Elfers’ reading competition and was rewarded with a bottle of bubbles…which I consequently spilled all over my mom’s car while trying to blow bubbles out the car window. :( My reading habit got so bad that by the time I was in 3rd grade my mom had to hide books from me because I would end up forsaking my homework to sneak in a few chapters of books like Matilda, Little House in the Big Woods, The Secret Garden, From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Tales of a Fourth-Grade Nothing, all of which remain in my list of favorite books up to this day. (Oh, and don’t even get me started on all the BSC and Sweet Valley books; those girls and I = BFFs!)
  2. Everyone knows about my great love affair with music, but not everyone knows said affair includes country music, too. :P Yeah, no musical snobbery from this girl. Disco, punk, jazz, celtic, indie rock — you name it, I’ll listen to it.
  3. I’m allergic to alcohol, but all things considered, this isn’t nearly as bad as being allergic to chocolate like poor Bua is (GAH, I don’t even want to imagine what life sans chocolat is like). I wasn’t always allergic to alcohol, though. Up until about three years ago I was able to handle the stuff just fine. But then one day I had a glass of wine and began to break out in what I’ve sinced dubbed The Nastiest Rash Ever. It was bad enough to scare me away from alcohol forever, and I haven’t touched the stuff since. Well, actually, that’s not true. I did drink some of the stuff while in Germany a while back, taking the smallest sip ever, just to see if my alcoholic fate was truly sealed, and consequently broke out in what I’ve sinced dubbed The Horrible Spawn of the Nastiest Rash Ever. =/ On the upside, at least I don’t have to worry about getting cirrhosis (or so she tries to tell herself).
  4. I can play five musical instruments — the piano, flute, Irish tin whistle, violin, and khim — all very (very) poorly.
  5. I was in the DJ club in 8th grade. It was fun for a while…then it wasn’t, mostly because Dea and I were the only girls in the club and all the guys turned all me-Tarzan-you-Jane on us by not allowing us to get within five feet of the big, bad, scary music equipment (apparently us petty little girls didn’t have the capability to understand how to DJ; talk about total cavemen!!!). We got so fed up with the chauvanistic male pig act that we quit right before the last dance of the year. I guess it was all for the better because it was during that last dance that an unknown cute guy asked me to dance. But total dimwit that I am, I was too shy to ask for his name. *Cue sappy orchestral music.*

~*~

Currently Playing: Supermassive Black Hole by Muse. HELLO, how come I never even knew Muse existed until last week?! I heard Supermassive Black Hole on the radio late one night and, I swear to you, it was like Love at First Listen.

Currently Reading: Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez . Paddy raved and recommended this book to me ages ago, but I only got around to reading it last night. I’m only a few chapters in, but I already know that this is one of the most fascinating books I’ve read in a long time. Oh, and if this novel sounds familiar, it’s probably because it plays a big part in Serendipity, one of the best romcoms ever…after Love Actually, of course. ;)

Currently Compiling: A personal list of favorite books. Free accounts at LibraryThing.Com are only allowed 200 titles, but my book collection ranges close to 500. What a dilemma — how will I ever choose?

7 Responses to "Everything You (Didn’t) Want to Know About Me"

Ah, I remember ‘Love in the Time of Cholera’ … our teacher made us read it in World Lit class back in high school. Must admit the contents were a little beyond my feeble, adolescent mind at the time. The only thing I remember about it was that in the original spanish title, the word for ‘cholera’ is ‘colera’ which can also be taken to mean ‘anger’. Don’t ask me what significance that has … but I thought the pun was pretty cool at the time. I wonder if most people got it though, cause the meaning is completely lost in the translation.

If you have the time, I would like to suggest this book I’m currently reading call ‘I am a Cat’ by Natsume Soseki … he was a famous Japanese writer and this book is considered by most as a Japanese masterpiece. What made me grab it was the first line … ‘I am a cat. As yet I have no name.’ … that’s an awesome beginning! In fact, if you want I can bring a copy back with me when I go back to BKK in Feb. Just let me know, OK?

YOU??? Once a SLOW reader??? noooooooooo!!! Cannot believe, la!!! :)
Yes, and wasn’t high school awesome?? But maybe only in hindsight. I think a lot of people feel emotions at their most intense when they are in high school– hormones mixed with naivite and all— so strong emotions are bound to come with it, good or bad. I loved HS for the most part too :)

we r similar on coffee consumption and the scent of it. but i am such a hard head and suffer from it often. did try their javan coffee during my recent javan trip bcoz i was really curious of its hype and all…….major dissapointment!

Lynn!!! Thanks for doing them!!! :)

Coffee thing… I have a guy friend who hates coffee. I used to mess with him having him eat coffee cakes and stuff. He said he luv the smell but it tastes horrible. :) I guess ur not alone! :)

I luv to car dance too!! It’s all in the blood I think. My mum and I would be like moving around the seats and stuff whenever the music we like is on. :) Well… it amazes ppl but who cares!

I luv country music too! Especially Thai ones! I guess it’s because if ur open to things, it’s not hard to like country music. :)

Awww… ur allergic to alcohol like my mum! Seriously… she would go red and stuff. :) Sometimes it was so bad that we had to take her to the doc. Poor mummy! Well! The good thing about being allergic to chocolate is that I won’t have to worry about getting fat from it. :P (Still do have to care about getting fat from other things though… hahahaha)

I am the same with the coffee and alcohol thing. my mom and sis live through coffee, and I, I am a tea junkie. I tried coffee once and didn’t like the bitter taste, just like my dad. Alcohol makes my heart thump really hard and fast (not to mention my head that will turn as red as a fireball). the only alcoholic thing i can manage is the mirin in my sushi ;).

whooa you can play the khim, that is very cool!! doesn’t matter if it’s poorly ;),

Leave a Reply

Tweet, tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Good Times

Roma-105

Roma-104

Roma-103

Roma-102

Roma-101

More Photos

What I Rant About

Blast to the Past

